Alex, one of the Connectionists!
Alexander G. Ororbia II
Assistant Professor
PhD, Information & Science Technology (The Pennsylvania State University), Minor in Social Data Analytics
B.S.E., Computer Science & Engineering (Bucknell University, U.S.A.), Minors in Mathematics & Philosophy
Director, Neural Adaptive Computing (NAC) Laboratory
Department of Computer Science
Rochester Institute of Technology (NY, USA)

Office: Golisano Hall Rm. 3537
Email: agovcs AT rit DOT edu (Teaching/Advising), ago AT cs DOT rit DOT edu

[ Home ] -- [ For Students ] -- [ Teaching ] -- [ Research ] -- [ Publications ] -- [ Talks ] -- [ Software ] -- [ The NAC Lab ] -- [ Academic Genealogy ]

Academic Genealogy

Academic Genealogy of Professor Alexander Ororbia

Below is a brief summary of my academic/intellectual legacy, continuing in the tradition of Professor Giles. It starts in the field of Computer/Information Science with Professor Giles and then moves to physics with Professor Barrett and then to mathematics with Professor Sommerfeld. Note that from my co-advisor's side, it also starts with Cognitive Science and Computer Science through Professor Reitter and then moves to mathematics with Professor Keller (one of Professor Reitter's co-advisors). The entire genealogy can be found through the Mathematics Genealogy Project website, an excellent resource for tracing academic roots.

My advisor was Professor C. Lee Giles, Ph.D. University of Arizona. My co-advisor was Professor David Reitter.

Giles' advisor was Professor Harrison H. Barrett, Ph.D. Harvard University.

Barrett's advisor was Professor R. Victor Jones, Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley.

Jones' advisor was Professor Carson D. Jeffries, Ph.D. Stanford University.

Jeffries' advisor was Professor Felix Bloch, Nobel Laureate, Ph.D. University of Leipzig.

Bloch's advisor was Professor Werner Karl Heisenberg, Nobel Laureate, Ph.D. University of Munich.

Heisenberg's advisor was Professor Arnold Johannes Wilhelm Sommerfeld, Ph.D. University of Königsberg.

Sommerfeld studied mathematics and physical sciences and became a theoretical physicist. He is notable for having four of his students, three of his postdocs, and one student's student being awarded the Nobel Prize. He was nominated 81 times for the Nobel Prize but never received it.

Sommerfeld's advisor was Professor C. L. Ferdinand Lindemann, Ph.D. Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg.

Lindemann's advisor was Professor Felix C. Klein, Ph.D. Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn.

    When dissertation students had two advisors, both are listed.

Klein's advisors were Professor Julius Plücker, Ph.D. Philipps-Universität Marburg, and Professor Rudolf Lipschitz, Dr. phil. Universität Berlin.

Plücker's advisor was Professor Christian Ludwig Gerling, Ph.D. Georg-August-Universität Göttingen.

Gerling's advisor was Professor Carl Friedrich Gauss, Ph.D. Universität Helmstedt. 

Lipschitz's advisors were Professor Gustav Peter Lejeune Dirichlet, honorary Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn, and Professor Martin Ohm, Dr. phil. Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg.

Dirichlet's advisors were Professor Simeon Denis Poisson, Ph.D., and Professor Jean-Baptiste Joseph Fourier, Ph.D., both Ecole Polytechnique.

Poisson's and Fourier's advisor was Professor Joseph Louis Lagrange.

This line continues with Euler, both Bernoulli's, and Leibnitz.

    For more information please see the Mathematics Genealogy Project. This genealogy summary was adapted from C. Lee Giles' genealogy page.